Interview Tips

By Amy Finke

This past week I experienced something that almost everyone goes through in life, an interview. This interview was for a summer internship with the government, which I knew was hard to get. Although I had been through many interviews before, I like to remind myself of what it is I need to do in order to ace an interview. With the help from PR Daily, they gave out some helpful tips for mastering an internship interview. These tips include:

 

  • Arriving 15 minutes early for the interview and to make sure you know the names of the people you’re meeting with.
  • Dress up & clean up.
  • Carry a simple portfolio with a pen, paper, extra résumés, simple business cards, and a sample of your portfolio.
  • Smile, act confident and be sure to ask questions.
  • Try to balance talking about yourself, while taking great care not to brag.
  • Focus on your accomplishments.
  • Share what you learned from past internships or jobs.
  • Write down the names of your interviewers and send them each a handwritten thank-you note.
  • Only call to follow up after a week has passed.

 

As I reviewed these tips, I made sure to plan ahead for the interview by picking out what I was going to wear, preparing my portfolio with the necessary materials, writing down questions I wanted to ask and typing in the address of the organization into my GPS. I did all this the night before to not only help me save time, but to lower my stress level which I knew was going be high for such a big interview. While there were some unexpected mishaps that still happened that morning, I knew that my readiness the night before was worth it. I walked into the interview prepared and confident that perhaps within a few weeks, I’d be walking into my new summer internship.

Leave a Reply

