Conference Reflection – Katie McLear

First and foremost, I would like to express my thanks to the IUPUI Department of Journalism and Public Relations for their continued support of the IUPUI PRSSA chapter. The department’s generous and continued assistance made the one-of-a-kind trip to PRSSA National Conference possible for six PRSSA students, myself included.

As I reflect on the trip, it is difficult to pinpoint only one or two highlights that I’d like to share with you.

“Causes and Concerns: Nonprofit Public Relations” was one of the most intriguing sessions I attended during the conference. I am currently working as an intern at a nonprofit organization, so I was instantly captivated by this session, hosted by Jennifer Byrd, National Director of Communications for the Salvation Army.

“Nonprofit careers are bigger than yourself,” Byrd said. “Changing the world is part of the job description.”

I found her presentation encouraging, hopeful and positive. Although nonprofit organizations may not be able to offer the same financial rewards as agency or corporate positions, they can be rewarding in many other ways.

After Byrd’s presentation, I found myself wondering if nonprofit public relations may be the right track for me. I’m still not entirely sure where I’ll begin my career, but I know that Jennifer’s words stuck with me and inspired me.

In closing, I would encourage fellow PRSSA members to embrace the opportunity to stay involved with PRSSA. The PRSSA National Conference is so much more than a weekend of workshops and professional development… National Conference provides an opportunity for dedicated students to come together and learn from one another with the mission of enhancing our individual chapters and the public relations profession as a whole.

If anyone is looking for a way to get more involved in IUPUI PRSSA, please do not hesitate to contact me. We would love to have you on our team and allow you to apply your skills and follow your passion for public relations.

Best,

Katie McLear
IUPUI PRSSA President

Leave a Reply

